Key takeaways
- Public universities generally charge third-country students €726.72 per semester plus the €26.20 ÖH fee.
- Citizens of least developed countries, including Afghanistan, pay only the ÖH fee at many public universities.
- IT:U Linz is tuition-free for all nationalities, and UAS Burgenland and Vorarlberg UAS currently charge no tuition.
- OeAD estimates average student living costs at about €1,300 per month, more in Vienna and larger cities.
- For the 2026 permit, you must show €8,670.96 (under 24) or €15,700.68 (24 and older) for 12 months.
On this page
- Tuition fees at public universities
- Tuition at universities of applied sciences (FH)
- Tuition-free and low-cost options
- Tuition at private universities
- Application fees and deposits
- Living costs in Austria
- Money you must show for the residence permit
- One-off and recurring official costs
- Sample first-year budget
- Health insurance costs explained
- Costs for PhD candidates
- Hidden costs and budgeting mistakes
- Can you work to cover costs?
Studying in Austria costs a non-EU student roughly €726.72 per semester in tuition at a public university, plus the €26.20 ÖH fee, plus living costs that OeAD estimates at about €1,300 per month on average. Some students pay much less: many public universities waive tuition for citizens of least developed countries such as Afghanistan, and a few institutions charge no tuition at all.
Below is a full budget with real fees from official university pages, the money you must show for your residence permit, and one-off costs that applicants often forget.
Tuition fees at public universities
According to Study in Austria, third-country students holding a Residence Permit – Student generally pay €726.72 per semester at public universities, plus the compulsory student union (ÖH) fee of €26.20 per semester, which includes accident insurance. That is about €1,505.84 for two semesters. Exemptions or refunds exist for certain scholarships, exchange programs and students from specific countries.
Tuition waiver for least developed countries
Many public universities waive tuition for citizens of countries on the least developed countries list, which includes Afghanistan. Official pages confirm this at the University of Vienna, TU Wien, WU Vienna, BOKU, the University of Graz, TU Graz, the University of Innsbruck, JKU Linz, the University of Klagenfurt, Montanuniversität Leoben and the Medical Universities of Vienna and Graz. These students pay only the €26.20 ÖH fee. The University of Salzburg's public pages do not mention the exemption, so ask its admissions office.
Tuition at universities of applied sciences (FH)
Universities of applied sciences are entitled to set their own fees, so they vary widely. These are the non-EU fees stated on official FH pages:
| Institution | City | Non-EU tuition |
|---|---|---|
| UAS Burgenland | Eisenstadt | No tuition fees; ÖH fee only (€350 deposit, refunded after first semester) |
| Vorarlberg UAS | Dornbirn | No tuition currently (the FH reserves the right to charge); ÖH fee |
| Salzburg UAS | Salzburg | €363 per semester + ÖH (some joint master's up to double for non-EU) |
| UAS BFI Vienna | Vienna | €363.36 per semester + ÖH (same as EU) |
| CU Carinthia | Villach | €500 per semester + ÖH |
| FH Wien der WKW | Vienna | €1,000 per semester + ÖH |
| USTP St. Pölten | St. Pölten | €1,500 per semester + ÖH; performance-based waivers |
| Technikum Wien | Vienna | €3,000 per semester + ÖH |
| MCI Innsbruck | Innsbruck | €8,250 per semester (2027/28) + ÖH |
FH JOANNEUM in Graz charges €726.72 per semester, reduced to €363.36 for nationals of least developed countries including Afghanistan.
Tuition-free and low-cost options
- IT:U Linz (Interdisciplinary Transformation University Austria) states it is tuition-free for all nationalities; you pay only the ÖH fee. All teaching is in English.
- UAS Burgenland states there are generally no tuition fees, although only two of its degrees are fully English-taught.
- Public universities for citizens of least developed countries, as listed above.
Tuition at private universities
Private universities set their own fees, which are usually much higher. Examples from official pages: Central European University charges €8,000 per year for bachelor's and €12,000–15,000 per year for master's (master's fee table for 2025/26), Modul University Vienna charges €9,000 per semester for bachelor's, and Webster Vienna Private University charges €24,068 per year for bachelor's. Some private universities, such as CEU, offer merit-based financial aid.
Application fees and deposits
- Most public universities: no fee for regular applications.
- Programs with entrance exams or selection procedures: often €50, for example at the University of Vienna and WU Vienna's English-taught bachelor's.
- FH JOANNEUM: €250 deposit (credited to tuition) plus a €10 processing fee for third-country applicants, with exemptions for nationals of least developed countries.
- Central European University: €30 per application cycle, plus a €500 registration fee to accept an offer (credited to tuition).
Living costs in Austria
OeAD estimates average monthly student living costs at about €1,300, based on the Studierenden-Sozialerhebung 2025. Vienna and larger cities are more expensive.
| Item | Approximate cost per month |
|---|---|
| Accommodation (student residence) | €450–700 |
| Food | €300 |
| Other expenses | €500 |
| Total | about €1,300 |
Housing
Austrian universities do not automatically provide accommodation. Options include student residences (often the cheapest), OeAD student housing (furnished rooms in Vienna, Graz, Salzburg, Innsbruck, Linz, Klagenfurt and Leoben), shared flats (WG) and private rentals. For the residence permit, you need proof of accommodation for at least three months, so start your search as soon as you are admitted.
Money you must show for the residence permit
| Age | Per month | For 12 months |
|---|---|---|
| Under 24 | €722.58 | €8,670.96 |
| 24 and older | €1,308.39 | €15,700.68 |
If your rent is above €386.43 per month, you must show extra funds, and you need money for health insurance. Note that the permit amounts are a legal minimum, not a comfortable budget: OeAD's own living cost estimate is higher than the under-24 amount. Read the Austria student visa guide for how to document your funds.
One-off and recurring official costs
| Cost | Amount | Source year |
|---|---|---|
| Residence permit application | €218 | From 1 January 2026 |
| Visa D | €195 | Year not stated |
| ÖGK student self-insurance | €78.84 per month | 2026 |
| Pakistani document verification (Islamabad) | PKR 36,000 + €80 per document | Year not stated |
| ENIC NARIC degree evaluation (for jobs) | €150 for up to two qualifications | Year not stated |
Add sworn translations, flights, a police certificate and your first month's rent and deposit, which vary by country and city.
Sample first-year budget
Using only the official figures above, a non-EU student at a public university paying full tuition would budget roughly: tuition and ÖH fee for two semesters (€1,505.84), plus 12 months at OeAD's €1,300 average (€15,600), plus permit and visa fees (€413). That is about €17,500 before flights, translations, deposits and insurance if your living estimate does not include it. A student from a fee-exempt country would save about €1,453 in tuition.
Ways to reduce costs
Choose a city outside Vienna, apply early for student residences, check whether your nationality qualifies for a tuition waiver, and look at low-fee institutions such as IT:U Linz or UAS Burgenland. See scholarships in Austria for funding.
Health insurance costs explained
You need two kinds of cover. To enter Austria, you need travel health insurance valid in Austria, which OeAD says should cover well over €30,000 including repatriation. For the residence permit, you need cover for all risks. Most degree students choose the ÖGK student self-insurance after arrival and enrolment, at €78.84 per month as of 2026, which is about €946 a year. A private policy is allowed only if it has no waiting periods, cost caps or exclusions and pays for treatment in Austria directly.
ÖGK conditions apply, for example on study duration, income limits and changes of program, and you must send a continuing-enrolment confirmation to ÖGK by 31 December each year.
Costs for PhD candidates
Doctoral study can look very different financially, because some PhD positions in Austria are paid jobs. Examples from official pages:
- IT:U Linz: PhD candidates are employed at €2,832.10 gross, paid 14 times a year, for 30 hours per week.
- WU Vienna (DIBT PhD in International Business Taxation): a limited number of employment contracts of about €2,800 per month, with tuition waived.
- Central European University: doctoral applicants who apply by 15 January 2027 are automatically considered for the CEU Doctoral Scholarship, covering full tuition plus €2,002 gross per month for 48 months.
Most other PhD students at public universities pay the same semester fees as other students unless they are employed by the university or funded by a grant.
Hidden costs and budgeting mistakes
- Paying for documents you cannot use. Check country-specific admission rules before paying for legalisation and translations.
- Ignoring deposits. Some FHs ask for deposits before reviewing your application, such as €350 at UAS Burgenland.
- Forgetting time limits on fee-free study. At IT:U, €600 per semester may be charged after the recommended duration plus two tolerance semesters.
- Budgeting only the permit minimum. The under-24 permit amount (€722.58 per month) is below OeAD's average living cost estimate.
- Leaving housing too late. You need three months of accommodation proof for the permit, and cheaper residences fill up first.
Can you work to cover costs?
With a student permit, you can work up to 20 hours per week once your employer obtains an employment permit from the AMS. Income can help with living costs, but it does not replace the proof of funds you need before you travel. See work and stay in Austria after graduation.
Fees change, so always confirm on the university page before you apply. Track deadlines for free on FindUniPath to see each university's official tuition and dates together, and see all guides on the Austria hub.
Frequently asked questions
Is university free in Austria for international students?
Not in general. Non-EU students at public universities usually pay €726.72 per semester plus the €26.20 ÖH fee. IT:U Linz is tuition-free for all, and many public universities waive tuition for citizens of least developed countries such as Afghanistan.
What is the cheapest university in Austria for international students?
Among institutions with English-taught programs, IT:U Linz states it is tuition-free for all nationalities, and UAS Burgenland and Vorarlberg UAS currently charge no tuition. Public universities charge €726.72 per semester for most non-EU students.
How much does it cost to live in Austria as a student?
OeAD estimates about €1,300 per month on average, including €450–700 for a student residence room, about €300 for food and about €500 for other costs. Vienna is more expensive.
Do Pakistani students pay tuition in Austria?
In most cases yes. Public universities waive tuition only for citizens of countries on the least developed countries list in the Tuition Fee Regulation, so check that list on your university's fee page. Otherwise €726.72 per semester plus the ÖH fee applies.
How much money do I need in my bank account for Austria?
For the 2026 student permit, €8,670.96 if you are under 24 or €15,700.68 if you are 24 or older, covering 12 months. Confirm the current amount with your embassy.
Official sources
Checked on 16 October 2026. Rules, fees and dates change — always confirm on the official page before you apply.
- 1.Study in Austria – Tuition fees
- 2.Study in Austria – Living costs
- 3.Study in Austria – Accommodation
- 4.OeAD – Residence Permit Student
- 5.Austrian Embassy Islamabad – Settlement and residence
- 6.University of Vienna – Tuition fee and ÖH fee
- 7.TU Wien – Tuition fee
- 8.IT:U – General FAQs
- 9.UAS Burgenland – FAQ
- 10.Vorarlberg UAS – Tuition and ÖH fee
- 11.CU Carinthia – Info center
- 12.MCI – International degree-seeking students
- 13.Technikum Wien – Tuition
- 14.FH Wien der WKW – Program costs
- 15.USTP St. Pölten – Costs and grants
- 16.FH JOANNEUM – International applicants (master's)
- 17.Central European University – Tuition fees
- 18.Webster Vienna Private University – Tuition and fees
- 19.Modul University Vienna – Tuition fees
- 20.OeAD student housing
- 21.UAS BFI Vienna – Regulations for international students
- 22.University of Graz – Tuition fee for international degree students
- 23.University of Innsbruck – Tuition fee and financial support
- 24.WU Vienna – Tuition fees and ÖH dues
- 25.TU Graz – Tuition fees and ÖH fee
- 26.BOKU – Amount of the tuition fee
- 27.University of Klagenfurt – University fees
- 28.Salzburg UAS – Fees and scholarships
- 29.Medical University of Graz – Tuition fees
- 30.Medical University of Vienna – Tuition fees
- 31.Montanuniversität Leoben – Tuition fees
- 32.JKU Linz – ÖH fees and tuition
- 33.Paris Lodron University of Salzburg – Tuition
- 34.ÖGK – Student self-insurance
- 35.WU Vienna – DIBT doctoral program
- 36.Central European University – Doctoral admissions