Key takeaways
- For 2026/27, non-EU students pay €2,902 a year for a public bachelor's, €3,950 for a master's and €398 for a PhD.
- Several public universities grant partial exemptions so non-EU students pay EU rates (€178 bachelor, €255 master) in 2026/27.
- Private institutions such as business schools generally charge about €6,000 to €18,000 or more a year, according to Campus France.
- For the visa you must show at least €877.50 per month, which is €10,530 for 12 months.
- CROUS residences average about €450 a month in Paris and €350 in the regions, but demand is high.
On this page
- Tuition at public universities (2026/27)
- Universities where non-EU students pay EU rates
- Programs with higher fees
- Private institutions
- One-off fees before and after arrival
- Living costs and the €877.50 rule
- Sample first-year budget with official figures
- When you pay what: a cost timeline
- Hidden costs to plan for
- Costs for Afghan students
- Paris or the regions?
- Working to cover costs
- How to reduce your costs
Studying in France as a non-EU student costs €2,902 a year for a bachelor's or €3,950 a year for a master's at a public institution under the Ministry of Higher Education (2026/27 rates), plus living costs. For the visa, you must prove at least €877.50 for every month of your stay, which is the most useful official benchmark for your living budget.
Some universities cut tuition for non-EU students to the EU rate, while private schools and some special programs charge far more. This guide lists every official amount with the year it applies to, so you can build an honest budget.
Tuition at public universities (2026/27)
France charges 'differentiated' fees to non-EU students at institutions under the Ministry of Higher Education. Engineering schools and schools under other ministries set their own rates.
| Level | Non-EU students | EU/EEA students |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor (licence) | €2,902 | €178 |
| Master | €3,950 | €255 |
| PhD | €398 | €397 |
| Engineering | Differentiated (amount set by school) | €630 |
Some non-EU students pay EU fees automatically: for example holders of long-term resident permits and students with refugee status or subsidiary protection. French government scholarship holders receive a full automatic waiver. Waiver rules changed under Decree 2026-385 of 19 May 2026; students already enrolled keep the previous rules until they finish their current degree cycle.
Universities where non-EU students pay EU rates
Universities can grant partial exemptions. These institutions with English-taught programs state on their official pages that non-EU students pay the national (EU) rate for 2026/27. Policies can change for 2027/28, so check before you apply.
| Institution | City | Non-EU fee policy |
|---|---|---|
| Université Paris-Saclay | Paris area | Partial exemption to the national rate for master's (Board resolution CA-2026-013) |
| Marie and Louis Pasteur University | Besançon | Automatic partial exemption, same as EU (since 2024/25) |
| Gustave Eiffel University | Champs-sur-Marne | 2026/27: non-EU students pay the EU rate |
| Université Paris Cité | Paris | EU rates in 2026/27 (moratorium); differentiated fees from 2027/28 unless exempt |
| Jean Moulin University Lyon 3 | Lyon | €178 licence / €255 master listed for 2026/27 |
| EHESS | Paris | National rates; no differentiated fees in 2026/27 |
Applicants from least developed countries
Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne exempts nationals of UN Least Developed Countries, including Afghanistan, from differentiated fees in 2026/27. Strasbourg lets students request an individual exemption on criteria that include coming from a UN Least Developed Country or a fragile or conflict-affected country.
Programs with higher fees
Not every English-taught program at a public institution follows the national rates. Some international tracks and special diplomas charge more. Examples from official pages (2026/27 unless stated):
- Institut Polytechnique de Paris: €4,327 a year for national-track master's, €7,166 for international-track master's.
- Université Côte d'Azur: IdEx MSc programs from €1,500 to €9,000 a year (Data Science and AI €5,500).
- University of Bordeaux IAE: international M1 €5,155, M2 €5,655.
- Sciences Po: €14,900 a year for bachelor's and €20,640 for master's for students with tax residence outside the EEA.
- ISAE-SUPAERO Advanced Masters: €17,000 or €19,000 for individual applicants (2025/26 rates).
Private institutions
Campus France says annual tuition at private institutions, especially business schools, generally ranges from about €6,000 to €18,000 or more (year not stated). Always check the school's own site for exact fees, and confirm the degree is recognised before paying a deposit.
One-off fees before and after arrival
| Fee | Amount | When / validity |
|---|---|---|
| Études en France fee, Pakistan | PKR 30,000 | 2026/27, non-refundable |
| Études en France fee, India | INR 20,000 | from 1 August 2026 |
| Études en France fee, Iran | EUR 250 | page cites the 2023 rate |
| Student visa fee | €50 (+ visa centre fee) | Campus France Iran, year not stated |
| CVEC student life contribution | €105 | 2026/27, once a year before enrolment |
| VLS-TS validation tax | €100 | within 3 months of arrival |
| Residence permit renewal | €100 (+ €180 if late) | each renewal |
Most public universities don't charge an application fee, but some institutions do; Sciences Po, for example, charges €150. Language tests (IELTS, TOEFL, TCF) are an extra cost.
Living costs and the €877.50 rule
Service Public sets the minimum resources for a student visa at €877.50 per month, from 1 August 2026. Over 12 months that is €10,530. Think of it as the floor the French state considers necessary, not a comfortable budget, especially in Paris.
Housing
| Type | Paris | Regions |
|---|---|---|
| CROUS university residence (average) | about €450 / month | about €350 / month |
| Private studio (minimum) | about €800 / month | about €400 / month |
International students apply for CROUS residences on trouverunlogement.lescrous.fr from 7 July. Demand is high, so don't count on a CROUS room. If you rent privately, Visale is a free state rental guarantee that replaces a French guarantor.
Health
Registering with French social security is free for students. It reimburses 60% of health costs; a complementary 'mutuelle' is optional but strongly recommended and is an extra monthly cost.
Sample first-year budget with official figures
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Tuition (non-EU master's) | €3,950 |
| CVEC | €105 |
| VLS-TS validation | €100 |
| Minimum living resources (12 × €877.50) | €10,530 |
| Total before EEF, visa and travel costs | €14,685 |
Your real cost can be lower if your university applies a partial exemption (master's at €255 instead of €3,950) or higher if you live in Paris or choose a program with special fees. Add your EEF fee, visa fees and flights.
When you pay what: a cost timeline
Many families are surprised by how much must be paid before the student even arrives. Plan your cash flow, not just the yearly total.
| Stage | What you pay | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application (autumn) | EEF fee in EEF countries; language tests; some school application fees | EEF fee is non-refundable |
| Visa (spring/summer) | Visa fee and visa centre fee | Funds of €877.50/month must already be in the account |
| Before enrolment | CVEC (€105 for 2026/27) | Paid online, once a year |
| Enrolment | Tuition (or the first instalment) | Some universities, such as Paris-Saclay, allow payment in three instalments |
| First weeks | Rent, housing deposit, mutuelle | Visale can replace a French guarantor |
| Within 3 months | VLS-TS validation tax (€100) | Paid online on ANEF |
Hidden costs to plan for
- Housing deposit and first month of rent, usually needed at the same time as you arrive.
- Furniture and household basics if your room or studio is unfurnished.
- Complementary health insurance (mutuelle), optional but strongly recommended by Campus France.
- Document costs: sworn translations, legalization and courier fees. See documents, translation and legalization.
- Renewal fees from your second year: €100 for the student permit, plus €180 if you apply late.
Costs for Afghan students
Afghan students should look closely at two official cost reducers. First, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne exempts nationals of UN Least Developed Countries, including Afghanistan, from differentiated fees in 2026/27. Second, the French government France Excellence scholarship for Afghan students (2027 call, deadline 31 May 2027) pays €900 a month for bachelor and master students or €1,850 a month for PhD students, with health insurance, a tuition waiver for national degrees at public universities, a free Études en France procedure, no visa fee and a return flight. You must already be admitted to a French program to apply.
Paris or the regions?
Location changes your budget more than almost anything else. Campus France quotes CROUS averages of about €450 a month in Paris against €350 in the regions, and private studios from about €800 in Paris against €400 elsewhere. Strong English-taught options exist well outside the capital, for example in Lille, Montpellier, Marseille, Bordeaux, Grenoble, Strasbourg and Besançon. If you are choosing between similar programs, compare the full yearly cost, not just tuition.
Working to cover costs
Students with a VLS-TS or student permit may work up to 964 hours a year. The minimum wage (SMIC) was €12.02 gross per hour on 1 January 2026. A job helps, but the visa requires you to show funds in advance, and studies should come first. See work and stay in France after graduation for the rules.
How to reduce your costs
- Target universities with partial exemptions, and check their 2027/28 policy before applying.
- Apply for the Eiffel scholarship through your institution, or the France Excellence scholarship if you are Afghan. See scholarships in France.
- Ask your university about fee waivers for students from crisis-affected countries or in financial hardship.
- Consider cities outside Paris, where CROUS and private rents are lower.
- Search the Campus Bourses directory for scholarships open to your nationality.
Compare universities by tuition and deadlines on the France country hub, or track deadlines for free on FindUniPath.
Frequently asked questions
Is education free in France for international students?
Not usually. For 2026/27, non-EU students pay €2,902 a year for a public bachelor's and €3,950 for a master's, though some universities reduce this to EU rates of €178 and €255.
How much bank balance is required for a France student visa?
At least €877.50 per month of your stay (rule from 1 August 2026), which is €10,530 for a full year. A scholarship letter can cover all or part of it.
What is the cheapest way to study in France?
Choose a public university that grants non-EU students the EU rate, live outside Paris, and apply for CROUS housing and scholarships. Check each university's fee policy for 2027/28.
What is the CVEC?
The Contribution Vie Étudiante et de Campus is a mandatory student life fee of €105 for 2026/27, paid online once a year before your administrative enrolment.
How much does rent cost for students in France?
Campus France gives CROUS averages of about €450 a month in Paris and €350 in the regions, with private studios from about €800 in Paris and €400 elsewhere.
Official sources
Checked on 16 October 2026. Rules, fees and dates change — always confirm on the official page before you apply.
- 1.Campus France: tuition fees in France
- 2.Service Public: student visa and residence permit
- 3.Campus France: student housing
- 4.Campus France: the CVEC
- 5.Campus France: working as a student
- 6.Université Paris-Saclay: tuition fees
- 7.Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne: tuition fees
- 8.IP Paris: master's and PhD Track fees 2026/27 (PDF)
- 9.Sciences Po: tuition fees
- 10.Campus France Pakistan: FAQ (EEF fee, funds)
- 11.Université Côte d'Azur: MSc tuition for international students
- 12.University of Strasbourg: tuition fees
- 13.Marie and Louis Pasteur University: studying at UMLP
- 14.Gustave Eiffel University: administrative enrolment and fees
- 15.Université Paris Cité: tuition and exemptions
- 16.Jean Moulin Lyon 3: tuition fees
- 17.EHESS: administrative enrolment
- 18.University of Bordeaux: preparing to come to Bordeaux
- 19.ISAE-SUPAERO: Advanced Master tuition fees
- 20.France Excellence scholarship call for Afghan applicants 2027 (PDF)