Key takeaways
- Each Turkish university sets its own international tuition; there is no national figure.
- For 2026/27, METU charges USD 800–1,200 per semester for bachelor's programs and Sivas University of Science and Technology USD 625 per semester for most English engineering programs.
- Private list prices for 2026/27 range from about USD 2,500 a year (Beykent) to USD 18,400 (Bilkent) and more, but many private universities offer waivers.
- Some public universities charge 1.5 times the normal fee for English-taught programs, and a preparatory English year can cost as much as a year of tuition.
- Budget for official fees too: the 964 TL residence permit card (2026), TR-YÖS (1,150–3,700 TL in 2026) and any application fee.
On this page
Studying in Turkey can cost anything from a few hundred US dollars per semester at some public universities to more than USD 20,000 a year at some private ones. There is no national tuition rate for international students: each university publishes its own fees, often in US dollars and charged in Turkish lira at the Central Bank exchange rate.
The official Study in Türkiye portal does not publish a national tuition or living-cost figure, so this guide uses 2026/27 fees from official university pages and official government charges. Check your university's current fee page before you budget.
Tuition at public universities
Public (state) universities set international fees each year within government rules. Many still charge far less than private universities, but fees vary widely by university and faculty, and Medicine is always the most expensive.
| University (city) | Tuition for international students |
|---|---|
| Sivas University of Science and Technology | USD 625 per semester for most English engineering; Aerospace USD 850; Aeronautical Eng. USD 1,000 |
| Middle East Technical University (Ankara) | Bachelor's USD 800–1,200 per semester; graduate USD 375 per semester |
| Abdullah Gül University (Kayseri) | USD 1,400–2,000 per year (bachelor's); graduate USD 1,000 per year |
| İzmir Katip Çelebi University | USD 2,000 per year (Economics, IR, Business in English); USD 3,000 English engineering |
| Ankara Yıldırım Beyazıt University | USD 2,000–4,000 per year for English programs; Medicine USD 9,200 |
| Ankara University | USD 3,000–5,400 per year for English programs |
| Yıldız Technical University (Istanbul) | TRY 70,000 per year for all faculties |
| Boğaziçi University (Istanbul) | USD 8,000–10,000 per year (bachelor's); graduate USD 500 per semester |
| Hacettepe University (Ankara) | USD 3,000–12,000 per year (Engineering USD 7,500; Medicine USD 12,000) |
English programs can cost more
Some public universities charge 1.5 times the normal fee for English-taught programs. This rule appears, for example, at Çanakkale Onsekiz Mart, Çankırı Karatekin, Bandırma Onyedi Eylül and Erzurum Technical University.
Tuition at private (foundation) universities
Private universities publish a list price, and many reduce it with scholarships or country discounts. The price you actually pay is the one written in your offer letter.
| University | List price | Discounts mentioned |
|---|---|---|
| Istanbul Beykent University | USD 2,500–2,700 per year (bachelor's) | None for international-quota students stated |
| Istanbul Medipol University | USD 4,500–6,500 per year for most English bachelor's | 15% special-country scholarship for Afghan nationals and others |
| Istanbul Okan University | USD 5,000 per year for most English bachelor's (year not stated) | 20% country discount for Afghan students |
| Bahçeşehir University | USD 8,500–9,000 per year for most bachelor's | No international scholarship stated |
| Bilkent University | USD 18,400 per year (2026 entrants) | Waivers of 20–100% based on grades and exams |
| Kadir Has University | USD 20,000 per year (bachelor's list price, year not stated) | 50–65% scholarships, net USD 10,000–7,000 |
| Sabancı University | USD 36,500 list; USD 24,500 for non-scholarship new international students | Merit waivers of 25–75% |
See how to get these waivers in our scholarships in Turkey guide.
Master's, PhD and Medicine costs
Graduate fees are often much lower than bachelor's fees at public universities, and they are sometimes quoted for the whole program rather than per year, so compare carefully.
| University | Fee |
|---|---|
| METU (public) | Graduate USD 375 per semester |
| Boğaziçi University (public) | Graduate USD 500 per semester |
| Abdullah Gül University (public) | Graduate USD 1,000 per year |
| Istanbul Beykent University (private) | Master's USD 1,600–2,100 per program; PhD USD 4,500 |
| Bahçeşehir University (private) | Thesis master's USD 14,000 for the whole program; PhD USD 40,000 |
| Hacettepe University (public) | Medicine USD 12,000 per year |
| Ankara Yıldırım Beyazıt University (public) | Medicine (English) USD 9,200 per year |
| Istanbul Medipol University (private) | Medicine (English) USD 40,000 per year |
Many graduate students at research universities also receive waivers: METU offers 50% or 100% discounts based on CGPA for graduate students, and Sabancı says most of its graduate students receive tuition waivers.
Hidden costs: prep year, deposits and application fees
- English preparatory year: if you are not exempt, you study English for up to a year first. At Beykent the prep year costs the same as the program fee; at Medipol the English Foundation School fee equals the annual tuition; Ankara Yıldırım Beyazıt says you pay the program fee in prep.
- Deposits: Sabancı asks for a non-refundable USD 2,000 pre-payment after an offer; Istanbul Okan asks for USD 1,000 (programs under USD 6,500 a year) or USD 2,500; Abdullah Gül asks for one semester's tuition as a pre-registration deposit.
- Application fees (2026/27): none at METU (undergraduate) or Ankara University; USD 103 at Boğaziçi; 2,500 TL at Hacettepe; 1,500 TL at İzmir Katip Çelebi; USD 50 at Izmir University of Economics; USD 30 at Sabancı.
- Exchange rates: fees set in US dollars are often charged in lira at the Central Bank rate on a given date, so your lira cost can change.
Instalments and early-payment discounts
Most universities split tuition into two payments a year. Bilkent and Sabancı list two instalments, and METU charges per semester. Several private universities reward early payment: Istanbul Okan gives 5% off for paying in advance, Istanbul Medipol 10% for a lump-sum payment, and Istanbul Gelişim 7% for paying the year in advance. These discounts help only if you have the money ready, so do not stretch your budget to chase them.
Official government charges
| Item | Amount | Source year |
|---|---|---|
| Residence permit card | 964.00 TL | From 1 January 2026 |
| TR-YÖS exam, centre in Afghanistan | 1,150.00 TL | 2026-TR-YÖS/2 |
| TR-YÖS exam, centre in Pakistan, India, Uzbekistan and others | 1,650.00 TL | 2026-TR-YÖS/2 |
| TR-YÖS exam, centre in Türkiye and others | 3,700.00 TL | 2026-TR-YÖS/2 |
| YÖK diploma equivalence application | 150 TL | Year not stated |
Visa fees depend on your nationality and mission and are not refunded if your application is rejected. See the Turkey student visa guide.
Accommodation
According to Study in Türkiye, international students can live in university dormitories, state dormitories run by KYK, private dormitories or rented flats. State and university dorms are almost always separated by gender, university dorm fees vary by university, and private dorms cost more. As one example, Abdullah Gül University lists its dorm at 7,000 TRY per month plus a 7,700 TRY deposit, with limited places.
If you rent a flat, the residence permit needs a notarised rental contract, which can add cost. Ask your university's international office about dorm availability as soon as you are admitted.
Health insurance
Apply to SGK for General Health Insurance within three months of your first university registration. If you miss that window, private health insurance becomes compulsory for your residence permit, which usually costs more. For the visa itself, you need medical insurance valid during your stay.
Living costs and proof of funds
We did not find an official national living-cost figure or a fixed proof-of-funds amount for Turkish student visas on the government pages we checked. Costs differ a lot between Istanbul and smaller cities, and prices in lira can change quickly. Your best guide is your university's own cost page and its dorm fees.
Budget checklist
- Tuition for each year, plus a possible English preparatory year
- Application fees and any seat deposit
- Exam fees (TR-YÖS, SAT or English tests)
- Visa fee and travel to the mission
- Flight to Turkey
- Residence permit card (964 TL in 2026) and photos
- Dorm or rent, deposit and a notarised contract if renting
- Health insurance if you miss the SGK window
- Food, transport, books and phone
How to lower your costs
For scale, the Türkiye Scholarships monthly stipend is 6,500 TL for bachelor's, 9,500 TL for master's and 13,000 TL for PhD students, on top of tuition, accommodation and insurance. Selection includes a document review and interviews, and nothing is guaranteed, so treat it as one option, not your only plan.
- Apply for Türkiye Scholarships, which cover tuition, accommodation, insurance, a flight and a monthly stipend.
- Compare public universities in smaller cities, where some English programs cost a few hundred dollars per semester.
- Get your English certificate before you arrive to avoid paying for a prep year, if the university accepts it.
- Look for country discounts and early-payment discounts at private universities.
- Apply for SGK insurance on time.
For the honest trade-offs, read studying in Turkey: pros and cons. To compare fees and deadlines, track deadlines for free on FindUniPath.
Frequently asked questions
Is studying in Turkey cheap for international students?
It can be. Some public universities charge a few hundred US dollars per semester, such as Sivas University of Science and Technology at USD 625 for most English engineering in 2026/27. Selective and private universities cost much more.
Is education free in Turkey for international students?
Not usually. International students pay tuition set by each university. The main way to study for free is Türkiye Scholarships, which covers tuition and gives a monthly stipend.
What is the cheapest university in Turkey for international students?
There is no official ranking by price. In our 2026/27 data, Sivas University of Science and Technology (USD 625 per semester for most English engineering) and METU (USD 800–1,200 per semester) are among the lowest.
How much is the residence permit fee for students in Turkey?
The residence permit card fee is 964.00 TL from 1 January 2026. The exact amount to pay is shown on your e-İkamet form.
Do Turkish universities charge tuition in dollars?
Many set fees in US dollars and charge them in Turkish lira at the Central Bank rate, while others set fees directly in lira. Check your university's fee table.
Official sources
Checked on 16 October 2026. Rules, fees and dates change — always confirm on the official page before you apply.
- 1.Study in Türkiye — Accommodation
- 2.Study in Türkiye — Apply in 5 steps
- 3.Sivas University of Science and Technology — 2026-27 enrollment guide
- 4.METU — 2026-2027 tuition fees
- 5.Abdullah Gül University — Fees and costs
- 6.İzmir Katip Çelebi University — 2026/27 guide (fees)
- 7.Ankara Yıldırım Beyazıt University — 2026-27 guide
- 8.Ankara University — 2026-2027 fees
- 9.Yıldız Technical University — 2026-2027 tuition for students from abroad
- 10.Boğaziçi University — Tuition fees
- 11.Hacettepe University — Tuition fees
- 12.Bilkent University — International students tuition fees
- 13.Sabancı University — Tuition fee
- 14.Kadir Has University — Tuition fee and scholarships
- 15.Istanbul Okan University — Undergraduate programs and fees
- 16.Istanbul Medipol University — Annual tuition rates
- 17.Istanbul Beykent University — International student fee calculator
- 18.Bahçeşehir University — Tuition fees
- 19.Presidency of Migration Management — Residence permit fees
- 20.ÖSYM — 2026 TR-YÖS/2 guide and application information
- 21.METU — Application requirements and scholarships
- 22.Türkiye Scholarships — Full-time programs
- 23.Istanbul Gelişim University — Tuition fees and discounts