Scholarships in Canada for International Students (2027 Guide)

Where the real money is: university entrance awards with fall 2027 deadlines, graduate funding packages and federal and Quebec doctoral awards, explained honestly.

FindUniPath Editorial Updated 6 min read 21 official sources

Key takeaways

  • Most funding for international students comes from universities, not the federal government.
  • Government of Canada scholarships on EduCanada are mostly short-term exchanges for specific regions, and none names Afghanistan.
  • Several universities give automatic entrance awards to international undergraduates, for example Waterloo's CAN$10,000 scholarships and York's awards of up to CAN$37,500.
  • Some big awards need a separate application months before the admission deadline, such as UBC's by 15 November 2026 for fall 2027.
  • The Canada Graduate Research Scholarship - Doctoral pays CAN$40,000 a year for 36 months, with up to 15% of awards for international applicants.
On this page
  1. Government of Canada scholarships: what's real
  2. Undergraduate entrance awards (fall 2027)
  3. Graduate funding: your best chance
  4. Federal and provincial doctoral awards
  5. Scholarships for students from Afghanistan
  6. Tuition reductions and guarantees also save money
  7. Mistakes that cost students scholarships
  8. How to apply: step by step

The scholarships international students can realistically get in Canada are university entrance awards for undergraduates and graduate funding packages for research master's and PhD students. Federal scholarships exist, but most are short exchanges for specific regions or doctoral awards for students already enrolled in Canada.

Fully funded bachelor's scholarships are rare and very competitive. Plan your budget without assuming a scholarship, then apply for every award you are eligible for, on time.

CAN$10,000
Waterloo's new scholarships for international applicants to most programs
CAN$15,000/yr
uOttawa English admission scholarship (eligible programs)
CAN$40,000/yr
CGRS Doctoral award, 36 months

Government of Canada scholarships: what's real

EduCanada lists federal programs such as ELAP (Latin America and the Caribbean), Study in Canada Scholarships, SEED-2 (ASEAN, Pacific and Mongolia), Canada-China, Canadian International Development Scholarships 2030 and OAS scholarships. Most are short-term exchanges applied for by Canadian institutions, not full degrees, and none names Afghanistan (EduCanada).

Beware of 'fully funded Canada scholarship' posts

If a social media post promises a fully funded Canadian degree for everyone, check the official university or government page. Real awards have clear eligibility rules, deadlines and a limited number of winners.

Undergraduate entrance awards (fall 2027)

These awards are open to international students according to each university's official page. Some are automatic; others need a separate application.

UniversityAwardHow / deadline
University of WaterlooNew CAN$10,000 scholarships for international students applying to most programsSee Waterloo's scholarships page
York UniversityAutomatic awards: CAN$37,500 (90%+), CAN$25,000 (80 to 89.9%), CAN$5,000 (75 to 79.9%)Automatic, by final average
York UniversityPresident's International Scholarship of Excellence, CAN$45,000/yrStudent deadline 26 Jan 2027
UBCInternational Scholars Program (IMES, Outstanding International Student Award)Award application by 15 Nov 2026
University of TorontoLester B. Pearson International Scholarship (4 years)School nomination required
Simon Fraser UniversityUndergraduate Scholars Entrance Scholarships, CAN$20,000 to 140,000Window 1 Oct to 15 Dec 2026
University of ManitobaInternational Excellence Entrance ScholarshipApply by 1 Dec 2026 for fall 2027
University of OttawaInternational English Admission Scholarship, CAN$15,000/yr (renewable)Eligible English-taught programs
University of AlbertaInternational entrance scholarships (automatic and application-based)Application-based awards by 10 Jan 2027
Selected entrance awards for international undergraduates

Others worth checking: McGill offers merit-based entrance scholarships and need-based entrance financial aid to all new first-year students regardless of citizenship; Carleton gives automatic entrance scholarships to international students with strong averages; the University of Saskatchewan considers international students for most entrance scholarships automatically; and UPEI gives automatic international entrance awards of CAN$1,000 to 3,000.

Need-based aid is limited

Many universities cannot offer need-based aid to international students. The University of Toronto, for example, states it cannot offer need-based financial aid to international students. Do not count on it.

More renewable awards at mid-size universities

Some of the most generous awards for international undergraduates are at mid-size universities, where fewer applicants compete for them:

UniversityAwardCondition
University of GuelphPresident's International Entrance Scholarships: CAN$10,000 to 20,000 in year 1, then CAN$7,500 per year (up to CAN$42,500)Automatic for admitted students with at least a 70% Canadian-equivalent average
University of King's CollegeInternational Mobility Award: up to CAN$12,000 per year tuition waiver, renewable up to 4 yearsAll full-time international undergraduates
Ontario Tech UniversityGlobal Leadership Award: CAN$30,000 per year for 4 yearsFall entrants from secondary schools outside Canada with an A average; one award per year
University of the Fraser ValleyInternational Excellence Entrance Scholarship: CAN$20,000 (CAN$5,000 per year)Final-year GPA of at least 3.75; apply after your offer with a letter of intent
Carleton UniversityPrestige ScholarshipsApply by 1 March 2027
Renewable awards open to international undergraduates

Read the renewal rules carefully. Most renewable awards require you to stay full-time and keep a minimum average every year, and some amounts change if your immigration status changes.

Graduate funding: your best chance

Research master's and PhD students are often funded through a mix of scholarships, teaching assistantships and research assistantships. Funding is usually decided at admission, so applying by the first deadline matters.

  • University of Alberta: minimum guaranteed funding for PhD students, plus recruitment scholarships.
  • UBC: International Tuition Award and a minimum funding policy for PhD students.
  • University of Ottawa: International Doctoral Scholarship of CAN$45,000 over five years.
  • University of Manitoba: International Graduate Student Entrance Scholarship (needs a GPA of at least 3.75 on 4.5 in the last two years) and the UM Graduate Fellowship.
  • Concordia: thesis-based graduate students are automatically considered for entrance awards and usually receive funding packages.
  • Dalhousie: international PhD students pay domestic tuition.

Federal and provincial doctoral awards

Canada Graduate Research Scholarship - Doctoral

This federal award pays CAN$40,000 per year for 36 months. Up to 15% of awards go to international applicants, who must already be registered in a doctoral program at an eligible Canadian institution by the application deadline. Applications sent directly to the agency are due 17 October before 8:00 pm ET (the page does not state a year), and institutional deadlines are often much earlier (NSERC).

Quebec Merit Scholarship Program (PBEEE)

Quebec's merit program offers doctoral researchers CAN$25,000 per year for up to three years, plus exemption from differential tuition fees and RAMQ health coverage. Universities preselect candidates, so contact your university; eligible countries and deadlines are not stated on the page (Quebec).

Scholarships for students from Afghanistan

We found no federal scholarship that names Afghanistan. But some universities make it easier:

  • UBC's graduate school waives its application fee for applicants whose citizenship and correspondence address are in Afghanistan.
  • Yorkville University, a private university, says Afghanistan qualifies as a UN Least Developed Country for its CAN$10,000 LDC International Bursary for on-campus students. Compare its total fees with public universities first.
  • Memorial University says it will consider Afghan applicants who face challenges getting official documents, which matters if you want to be considered for its entrance scholarships (deadline 1 March for high-school applicants).
  • Acadia University lists 85% for internal and 86% for external graduate scholarships for Afghan applicants.

Tuition reductions and guarantees also save money

Not every saving is called a scholarship. Some universities cut the international price directly or protect you from big increases:

  • University of Ottawa: the International English Admission Scholarship takes CAN$15,000 per year off tuition for newly admitted international students in eligible English-taught undergraduate programs, renewable under its conditions.
  • University of Regina: a bundle that saves up to CAN$21,000 in tuition and fees over four years for international undergraduates.
  • Wilfrid Laurier University: renewable entrance scholarships for international undergraduates and a tuition guarantee that limits increases for continuing students to a maximum of 5% per year.
  • Dalhousie: international PhD students pay domestic tuition, which is a large saving over a four-year doctorate.

When you compare offers, look at the total cost over the full degree after all awards and guarantees, not just the headline scholarship amount. A CAN$5,000 award at a university that is CAN$15,000 cheaper per year can be a better deal than a larger award at an expensive one.

Mistakes that cost students scholarships

  • Missing the separate award deadline. UBC's award application (15 November 2026) and SFU's window (closing 15 December 2026) are well before their admission deadlines.
  • Applying late for admission. Automatic awards depend on your admission and average; late applicants may find funds already committed.
  • Ignoring renewal conditions. A four-year award can stop after year one if your grades drop or you go part-time.
  • Counting on an award in your visa file before it is confirmed. IRCC accepts scholarships as proof of funds, but only with an official award letter.
  • Assuming graduate funding is automatic. At many universities, funding is offered by the department or supervisor, so apply by the first deadline and ask what the offer includes.

How to apply: step by step

  1. 1

    List awards when you shortlist programs

    Write down every award, whether it is automatic, and its deadline. Some close before the admission deadline.

  2. 2

    Apply early for admission

    Many automatic awards are given to students admitted early with high averages.

  3. 3

    Prepare a strong award application

    Typical items: personal essay, leadership and community activities, references and transcripts.

  4. 4

    For graduate funding, contact supervisors

    Research programs often fund students through a supervisor's grant. A good fit with a supervisor improves your chances.

  5. 5

    Keep your proof of funds ready anyway

    IRCC accepts scholarships as proof of funds, but if an award covers only tuition you must still prove living and travel money.

Set reminders for each deadline when you track deadlines for free on FindUniPath. See also cost of studying in Canada and how to apply to universities in Canada, or the Canada country hub.

Frequently asked questions

Are there fully funded scholarships in Canada for international students?

A few, mostly very competitive, such as the University of Toronto's Lester B. Pearson International Scholarship, which requires school nomination. For research master's and PhD students, funding packages that cover most costs are more common.

Can Afghan students get scholarships in Canada?

Yes, through university awards that are open to all international students. No federal scholarship on EduCanada names Afghanistan, but UBC's graduate school waives its application fee for applicants living in Afghanistan.

When should I apply for Canadian scholarships for fall 2027?

Often in autumn 2026 or early 2027. Examples: UBC by 15 November 2026, the University of Manitoba by 1 December 2026, SFU by 15 December 2026 and the University of Alberta's application-based awards by 10 January 2027.

Is the Vanier scholarship still available?

Check the current federal page. The doctoral award now listed by NSERC is the Canada Graduate Research Scholarship - Doctoral, worth CAN$40,000 a year for 36 months, with up to 15% of awards for international applicants.

Do scholarships count as proof of funds for a Canadian study permit?

Yes, IRCC accepts scholarships. If the scholarship covers only tuition, you must also prove funds for living costs and travel.

Official sources

Checked on 16 October 2026. Rules, fees and dates change — always confirm on the official page before you apply.

  1. 1.EduCanada - Scholarships for international students
  2. 2.NSERC - Canada Graduate Research Scholarship - Doctoral
  3. 3.Government of Quebec - Merit scholarships (PBEEE)
  4. 4.University of Waterloo - Scholarships
  5. 5.York University - International requirements and awards
  6. 6.UBC - Dates and deadlines
  7. 7.SFU - Fees and scholarships
  8. 8.University of Ottawa - International tuition
  9. 9.University of Manitoba - Apply
  10. 10.University of Alberta - How to apply
  11. 11.UBC Graduate School - Afghanistan
  12. 12.Yorkville University - Scholarships and bursaries
  13. 13.IRCC - Proof of financial support
  14. 14.University of Guelph - International funding
  15. 15.University of King's College - Tuition and financial aid for international students
  16. 16.Ontario Tech University - Global Leadership Award
  17. 17.University of the Fraser Valley - Tuition, scholarships and jobs
  18. 18.Carleton University - International costs and scholarships
  19. 19.University of Regina - Tuition and fees
  20. 20.Wilfrid Laurier University - International tuition and finances
  21. 21.Dalhousie University - Graduate admission requirements
#scholarships#entranceawards#graduatefunding#phdfunding#canada

Know someone planning to study in Canada? Share this guide.