Arts et Métiers Sciences et Technologies at a glance
- City
- Paris (campuses across France)
- Type
- Public university
- Website
- artsetmetiers.fr/fr
Key takeaways
- Arts et Métiers says it does not charge higher tuition fees to international students enrolled in its Master of Science programs for 2025/26.
- No statement for 2026/27 or 2027/28 was found, so confirm the fee before accepting an offer.
- Our fact pack lists 16 English-taught national Master of Science tracks, mostly one-year M2s, in Paris, Lille and Aix-en-Provence.
- For 2026 entry, non-EU applicants needing a visa applied on the LISE portal from 2 February to 30 May 2026, and had to submit within 15 days of creating their file.
- You need a B2 certificate in the language of instruction (IELTS, TOEFL or TOEIC for English).
On this page
Arts et Métiers, France's public engineering institute, states that it does not charge higher tuition fees to international students in its Master of Science programs for 2025/26. That means non-EU engineering students paid the national master's rate instead of the €3,950 non-EU fee that many French universities now charge.
It runs English-taught national master's tracks in mechanical, industrial, energy and biomedical engineering across its campuses. The catch: the fee statement covers 2025/26 only, so you must confirm the rate for your intake.
Why Arts et Métiers is good value
- No higher international fees (2025/26): Master of Science students paid the same as domestic students.
- Applied engineering focus: manufacturing, materials, mechanics, energy, cyber-physical systems and biomedical engineering.
- National diplomas: the English-taught tracks are national master's degrees (DNM).
- Network of campuses: Paris, Lille, Metz, Bordeaux-Talence, Aix-en-Provence, Angers, Châlons, Cluny and Laval. English-taught tracks are mainly in Paris, Lille and Aix-en-Provence.
Tuition and fees
The master's page says Arts et Métiers "doesn't charge higher tuition fees for international students" in its Master of Science programs, for students enrolled in the 2025/26 academic year. For comparison, the national rates for 2026/27 are €255 a year for a master's (EU level) and €3,950 for non-EU students where differentiated fees apply (Campus France).
| Year | What the source says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 2025/26 | No higher fees for international MSc students | Confirmed by Arts et Métiers |
| 2026/27 | Not stated on the pages checked | Ask admissions |
| 2027/28 | Not stated | Ask admissions |
Get the fee in writing
Decree 2026-385 of 19 May 2026 changed national waiver rules, and the Arts et Métiers statement predates it. Email [email protected] to confirm the fee for your intake before you pay any deposit or apply for your visa. Budget for the CVEC (€105 in 2026/27) as well.
English-taught programs
The engineering degree (PGE) and bachelor's are taught in French. These national Master of Science tracks are taught in English:
- M1 Factory of the Future (Paris): Energy (FoF-ENG), Industrial Engineering (FoF-GI), Mechanical Engineering (FoF-GM)
- Biomedical M2s: Bio-imaging (BIM), Biomechanics (BIOMECH), Innovation in Digital Health (E-HEALTH), Molecular and Cellular Biotherapies (MCB), Neurotechnologies (NEUROTECH)
- Manufacturing and materials M2s: MAGIS – Life Cycle of Polymers and Composites; MAGIS – Machining and Simulation; MAGIS – Metal Processing and Additive Manufacturing; KIMP – Design and Manufacturing (Paris); KIMP – Advanced Production Systems (Lille)
- Energy and systems: Electrical Energy and Sustainable Development (E2SD, M2, Lille); Cyber-Physical Systems Engineering (CPSE, M2, Aix-en-Provence)
- Two-year track: Advanced Manufacturing and Materials Science (AM²S, M1 and M2, Aix-en-Provence)
Because most tracks are one-year M2s, they suit students who already hold an M1 or a four-year engineering bachelor's. Compare with other schools in English-taught programs in France.
Who these programs suit best
Arts et Métiers is a good fit if you have a mechanical, industrial, electrical or biomedical engineering background and want a practical, industry-oriented specialisation. If you only hold a three-year bachelor's, look first at the M1 Factory of the Future tracks in Paris or the two-year AM²S track in Aix-en-Provence, because most other tracks start at M2 level.
Admission requirements
- M1: bachelor's (licence) level in a relevant field. M2: a validated M1. Selection is on file by an admissions committee; no fixed GPA is stated.
- Language: proof of B2 in the language of instruction. For English: IELTS, TOEFL or TOEIC (contact [email protected] for other certificates).
- Documents: passport photo, CV, all higher-education transcripts, proof of your highest degree, cover letter and a recommendation letter from a teacher or supervisor.
- Appeals: Arts et Métiers publishes appeal procedures for admission decisions.
Deadlines (last published: 2026/27 intake)
| Applicant | Platform | 2026 dates |
|---|---|---|
| Non-EU applicants who need a visa (M1 and M2) | LISE portal | 2 Feb – 30 May 2026 |
| M1 Biomedical Engineering (BME) | BME program website | See program site |
| EU/EEA residents and non-EU residents in France (M1) | Mon Master | 17 Feb – 16 Mar 2026 |
The 2027 LISE window has not been published yet. Remember the 15-day rule: create your LISE file only when all documents are ready, or it will be deleted.
Scholarships
We found no dedicated Arts et Métiers scholarship for international master's students. Look at national schemes instead:
- France Excellence Eiffel: €1,200 a month for master's students; the institution submits your file to Campus France by 6 January 2027.
- France Excellence for Afghan students (2027 call): priority to STEM and female applicants; deadline 31 May 2027.
- More options in our France scholarships guide.
Living costs
Costs depend on your campus. The visa requires proof of at least €877.50 per month (from 1 August 2026). Campus France's average CROUS rent is about €450 a month in Paris and €350 in the regions (Service-Public). Our cost of studying in France guide breaks down a full budget.
Applying from Afghanistan
LISE, then the visa
Arts et Métiers says non-EU applicants who need a visa and live outside the EU, such as Afghan residents, apply directly on LISE, then apply for a long-stay student visa. The French government's 2027 call for Afghan applicants says only the French embassies in India, Iran and Pakistan issue student visas to Afghans living in Afghanistan, and that they apply through those Campus France sites and Études en France. Check both routes and see our France student visa guide.
Honest pros and cons
Benefits
- No higher international fees for MSc students in 2025/26
- Hands-on engineering specialisations in English
- No application fee mentioned on the admissions page
- Campuses in several French regions
Difficulties
- Fee policy for 2026/27 and 2027/28 not published
- Most tracks are one-year M2s that need an M1 first
- No dedicated international scholarship
- Strict 15-day LISE submission rule
How to apply step by step
- 1
Choose a track and campus
Check whether it is an M1 or M2 and where it is taught.
- 2
Collect documents first
CV, transcripts, degree proof, cover letter, recommendation letter and a B2 English certificate.
- 3
Register on LISE
Create your account and submit within 15 days during the window.
- 4
Confirm the fee
Email [email protected] to confirm tuition for your intake.
- 5
Apply for your visa
Show €877.50 per month; residents of Études en France countries follow the Campus France procedure.
- 6
Enrol on campus
Pay the CVEC and validate your VLS-TS within 3 months of arrival (€100).
Start with our complete guide to studying in France, check the France hub and track deadlines for free on FindUniPath.
Frequently asked questions
Does Arts et Métiers charge non-EU students higher fees?
For 2025/26 it said it does not charge higher tuition fees to international Master of Science students. No statement was found for 2026/27 or 2027/28, so confirm with admissions.
Is the Arts et Métiers engineering degree taught in English?
No. The engineering program (PGE) and bachelor's are taught in French. The English-taught options are national Master of Science tracks.
How do I apply to Arts et Métiers as an international student?
Non-EU applicants who need a visa apply on the LISE portal. For 2026 entry the window ran from 2 February to 30 May 2026, and files must be submitted within 15 days of creation.
What English test does Arts et Métiers accept?
A B2-level IELTS, TOEFL or TOEIC certificate. For other certificates, contact [email protected].
Official sources
Checked on 16 October 2026. Rules, fees and dates change — always confirm on the official page before you apply.
- 1.Arts et Métiers — Master of Science (masters recherche)
- 2.Arts et Métiers — National master's admissions
- 3.Arts et Métiers — National master's programs 2026 (PDF)
- 4.Arts et Métiers — Master admissions
- 5.Campus France — Tuition fees in France
- 6.Campus France — France Excellence Eiffel scholarship
- 7.Service-Public — Student long-stay visa (VLS-TS)
- 8.Campus France Iran — France Excellence call for Afghan applicants 2027